Canadian New Media Awards Educator of the Year

First published: May 29, 2007

I was honoured to receive the Canadian New Media Award for Educator of the Year Monday night. It was truly an amazing evening at the Carlu in Toronto as the top innovators in the country were honoured for their contribution to interactive media.

To be included in the company of such incredible individuals was so fantastic. I met wonderful people at a series of events over two days. It began with a BBQ at the Canadian Film Centre on Sunday night where I met a group of students from Emily Carr Institute from British Columbia. Then, there was a beautiful luncheon at the RGB tower on Bay Street in the executive dining room.

Here is the press release from CMNA


Interactive Industry Fêtes 2007 Canadian New Media Award
Winners at Nerd’s Nite Out
— 14 winners from across Canada recognized for excellence in new media —
TORONTO, May 29, 2007 – The Canadian New Media Awards (CNMA) announced this year’s 14 winners at the Carlu on Monday May 28th, 2007. The winners, selected from 42 finalists in categories such as online, interactive, animation and gaming, were presented with a prestigious Pixel award in recognition of their achievements in new media. More than 400 guests at the seventh annual awards gala celebrated the “geek chic” of the new media industry with a Nerd’s Nite Out theme, complete with an interactive art and music wall and live blogging. The event was hosted by Debra DiGiovanni of MuchMusic’s Video on Trial and can be followed on
“The CNMA realizes our vision of bringing together the top talent from across the interactive industry in Canada,” said Adam Froman, Founder and Executive Producer of the Canadian New Media Awards. “With the help of our great sponsors and partners, the CNMA continues to grow, evolve and shape this goal, and this year proved to be one of the strongest yet.”
This year’s ceremony included a special recognition award for Sheldon Levy, president of Ryerson University. Mr. Levy was honoured for his continuous support and promotion of the importance of interactive digital media. More information on Mr. Levy can be found at
The 2007 CNMA winners were selected by a 127-member jury, recruited from industry peers and higher education institutions in new media from across the country. New this year, the CNMA partnered with Deloitte to bring the same rigour in selecting the winner of Company of the Year as it has done over the past decade when selecting Deloitte’s Technology Fast 50 winners.

“The three Company of the Year finalists exemplified several key factors that fuel a successful new media company – technological expertise, entrepreneurship, creativity, and experienced management,” said Gary Gluckman, a partner in Deloitte’s Technology, Media and Telecommunications Group. “The CNMA should be applauded for its longstanding efforts to celebrate this industry that now stands on its own as an important and robust part of the Canadian economy.”
2007 Canadian New Media Awards Winners:
•    Company of the Year – MyThum Interactive Inc., a Toronto-based mobile media company that helps brands and broadcasters build direct relationships with consumers via mobile phone
•    Most Promising New Company of the Year – Hothead Games, a Vancouver-based interactive entertainment company dedicated to creating and delivering innovative and engaging video game experiences
•    Excellence in Children’s – Toopy & Binoo, developed by Montréal-based Tribal Nova
•    Educator of the Year – Robert Washburn, of Loyalist College in Bellville, ON for excellence in e-journalism
•    Excellence in News, Information – Filmmaker-in-Residence, produced by the National Film Board and Vancouver-based Subject Matter Inc.
•    Producer of the Year – Matthew Hornburg of Toronto-based marblemedia and producer of Seductive Shorts
•    Excellence in Culture, Lifestyle, Arts –, produced by zinc Roe New Media in Toronto
•    Designer of the Year – Jacqueline Jung of Vancouver-based Fjord Interactive/Cossette Communications
•    Excellence in Cross Platform – The ReGenesis Extended Reality Game – II, produced by Toronto-based Xenophile Media (in association with Shaftesbury Films Inc)
•    Emerging Innovator of the Year – Jason DaSilva of Vancouver’s Emily Carr Institute
•    Excellence in Learning – Independent Learning Centre, the Toronto-based provider of distance education, in English and in French, for Ontario residents who want to earn secondary school diploma credits, upgrade basic skills, or study for personal development
•    Excellence in the Use of Social Media –, a Winnipeg-based online forum for emerging artists
•    Programmer of the Year – Ryan Andal, producer of Crash Addicts
•    Excellence in Gaming – Captain Flamingo: Uh-Oh Flamingo!, developed by Toronto-based Breakthrough New Media and Sarbakan, in association with YTV
About the Canadian New Media Awards
The Canadian New Media Awards (CNMA) were established in 1999 to promote and celebrate excellence within the digital interactive industry. The Awards recognize the accomplishments and outstanding contributions made by Canadians working in this sector. Judges from across the country select 42 finalists and 14 winners from hundreds of entries submitted in featured categories (seven product and eight individual or company) that showcase the world-class skills of the new media industry’s top talent, services and products. Each year, hundreds of business and new media professionals from across Canada gather to honour the country’s top talent, services and products at the Gala Awards Ceremony in May. The Awards are presented in partnership with Canadian Heritage, Telefilm Canada, and Delvinia Interactive. For further information, visit

CNMA sponsors: Canadian Heritage, Telefilm Canada, Delvinia, Deloitte, Edelman, BITE TV, RBC Royal Bank, City of Toronto, Bell Fund, Ravenstone Productions, Sympatico / MSN , CFC Canadian Film Centre, ThinData, Cultural Human Resources Council, CATA Alliance, AIMS, CNW Group, ITBusiness Group, Playback Magazine, One Degree, ITAC, Decima’s Canadian New Media, G4 Tech TV, and Backbone Magazine.
For further information, please contact:

Tannis Wengel
Canadian New Media Awards

Megan Hooper
416-979-1120 x 297

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.